Author Topic: Clan "LANSE"  (Read 4180 times)

jason

  • LANSE Admin
  • LANSE Elder
  • *****
  • Posts: 7304
    • http://www.lanse.co.uk
Clan "LANSE"
« on: November 23, 2007, 08:41:18 AM »
Lo,

Who do we have that's interested in getting this ball rolling?

Game wise, I'm not too bothered what we play - but is TF2 going to be more forgiving?

Do any of you have connections so we can get a game server up and running for "not a lot" per month. Alex's m8 still has our old box which we can use. . . .
i5-2500k
Asus P8P67
2x 4gb DDR3 1600 hz OCZ
1 x Dell Perc 6/i
4 x Samsung 2TB (raid 5)
1 x WD VelociRaptor WD3000HLFS
Asus 5870 1gb PCI-E

Bluey

  • LANSE Elder
  • *****
  • Posts: 3709
    • http://www.lanse.co.uk
Re: Clan "LANSE"
« Reply #1 on: November 23, 2007, 10:00:04 AM »
I've played COD4 once and am up for more of that, looks like i'm waiting for xmas to get it though :(

blade

  • GeForce 8800 Ultra
  • *****
  • Posts: 1290
    • http://www.dandm.co.uk
Re: Clan "LANSE"
« Reply #2 on: November 23, 2007, 07:50:15 PM »
What up/down speeds do you need to run a server.

jason

  • LANSE Admin
  • LANSE Elder
  • *****
  • Posts: 7304
    • http://www.lanse.co.uk
Re: Clan "LANSE"
« Reply #3 on: November 23, 2007, 11:56:57 PM »
down = more than up

up circa 2-3 meg peak
i5-2500k
Asus P8P67
2x 4gb DDR3 1600 hz OCZ
1 x Dell Perc 6/i
4 x Samsung 2TB (raid 5)
1 x WD VelociRaptor WD3000HLFS
Asus 5870 1gb PCI-E

blade

  • GeForce 8800 Ultra
  • *****
  • Posts: 1290
    • http://www.dandm.co.uk
Re: Clan "LANSE"
« Reply #4 on: November 25, 2007, 09:50:28 AM »
When my bethere gets connected i will do a speed test and post here.

Sencerd

  • GeForce 8800 Ultra
  • *****
  • Posts: 1146
    • http://www.reload-network.co.uk/
Re: Clan "LANSE"
« Reply #5 on: November 25, 2007, 05:15:25 PM »
you cant run a server on the home connection, there's far more to it than just peak throughput, I think Jason meant anyone that can have the server hosted in a datacentre
Nostalgia isn't what it used to be.

jason

  • LANSE Admin
  • LANSE Elder
  • *****
  • Posts: 7304
    • http://www.lanse.co.uk
Re: Clan "LANSE"
« Reply #6 on: November 25, 2007, 05:36:49 PM »
ye,

home connections aren't up for it really.

We have the machine. . . . . supposedly, Alex, has this bloke got a phone number?
i5-2500k
Asus P8P67
2x 4gb DDR3 1600 hz OCZ
1 x Dell Perc 6/i
4 x Samsung 2TB (raid 5)
1 x WD VelociRaptor WD3000HLFS
Asus 5870 1gb PCI-E

Bluey

  • LANSE Elder
  • *****
  • Posts: 3709
    • http://www.lanse.co.uk
Re: Clan "LANSE"
« Reply #7 on: November 25, 2007, 09:24:04 PM »
don't they block ports required for hosting servers on domestic connections?

blade

  • GeForce 8800 Ultra
  • *****
  • Posts: 1290
    • http://www.dandm.co.uk
Re: Clan "LANSE"
« Reply #8 on: November 26, 2007, 12:02:09 PM »
Shame, thought being as im hardly ever home it might be of some use. Bethere claim that they dont block ports, i will find out when i get connected on friday.

Cosmo

  • GeForce 8800 Ultra
  • *****
  • Posts: 1641
    • http://stfu-land.com
Re: Clan "LANSE"
« Reply #9 on: November 26, 2007, 12:46:45 PM »
I'll definately be up for joining you whatever, but having tried my hand with some of the other Intel guys at the Multiplay i32 Team Fortress 2 tournament, i can safely say it's NOT FORGIVING :)

I'd love either TF2 or CoD4 ...

"I think i'm getting old - i'm so tired" - Jason Halls - 03/09/2005